Houghton Mifflin

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company is a leading educational publisher originally founded in Boston in 1832 by printer Henry Oscar Houghton and George Mifflin. Later, they merged with a publishing company formed by William Ticknor and James Thomas Fields, who published authors such as Ralph Waldo Emerson, Nathaniel Hawthorne, and Henry David Thoreau. In 2007 Houghton Mifflin acquired the Harcourt Education, Harcourt Trade, and Greenwood-Heinemann divisions of Reed Elsevier to become Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

The Mariner Books imprint was established in 1997 as a publisher of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry in paperback.

Official Websites
Houghton Mifflin
Mariner Books

Alison Bechdel